Search
Facebook Twitter Our Blog
The Law Offices of Christopher M. Cosley
24 HOUR ANSWERING | 847-394-3200
SERVICE

1855 Rohlwing Road, Suite D, Rolling Meadows, IL 60008

24 HOUR ANSWERING SERVICE

Archive for the ‘Illinois driving laws’ tag

Obtaining an Out-of-State Licenses After Being Suspended in Illinois

January 16th, 2020 at 2:13 pm

suspended-licenseLaw enforcement departments in Illinois have noticed a disturbing trend. After being convicted of a DUI, individuals visit another state for the purpose of obtaining out-of-state licenses after being suspended in Illinois. A man in Romeoville just tried this exact ploy. After his license was suspended after being convicted of multiple DUIs, he visited Iowa to get a new one. After he did, he returned to Illinois before being pulled over and charged again with a DUI.

Police in Illinois say that this is not actually all that unusual. It is becoming a recurring trend and one that they obviously want to stop. Drivers that are thinking about trying the scheme should know that it comes with serious penalties.

The Driver’s License Interstate Compact

There is a reason people can simply go to another state to obtain a driver’s license after theirs is suspended in their home state. That reason is because of the Interstate Driver’s License Compact. This contract tells all states to uphold a driver’s license suspension, even if it occurred out of state. The only states that do not take part of the contract are Georgia, Massachusetts, Michigan, Tennessee, and Wisconsin.

Due to this, it is not known how so many people are going to states that neighbor Illinois and getting a license. However, for those that do, there are some real penalties that come with it.

Penalties for Obtaining a False License

If your driver’s license is suspended or revoked in Illinois, you are expected to stay off the roads, within the state and outside of it. If you are caught driving on a revoked or suspended license, even if you obtained a new license in a different state, there are consequences. The first of these is the penalty you will face for any driving infraction you were pulled over for. For example, in the most recent story, the man will face penalties for drunk driving.

However, you will also face penalties for driving with a false license. You may face a charge of a Class A misdemeanor, which has penalties of up to one year in jail and a maximum fine of $2,500. You may also be charged, depending on the alleged crime, with a Class 4 felony. In this instance, you will face anywhere between one to three years in jail and a maximum fine of $25,000.

These consequences are very serious. Typically, the Secretary of State will determine whether or not you will face these charges, as law enforcement has requested in the most recent case.

Charged with Carrying a False License? Call Our Illinois Criminal Defense Lawyer

If you have been charged with a DUI, carrying a false license, or any other crime, you need the help of a skilled Rolling Meadows criminal defense lawyer. At the Law Offices of Christopher M. Cosley, we know how to defend these charges, make sure your rights are upheld and give you the best chance of a positive outcome. Call us today at 847-394-3200 for your free consultation so we can start building you a strong defense, and so we can help with your case.

 

Source:

https://patch.com/illinois/lagrange/dui-suspect-got-false-license-riverside-cops

Juvenile Traffic Offenses Can Lead to Loss of License

November 19th, 2015 at 3:27 pm

Illinois juvenile crimes attorney, Illinois traffiv violations lawyer, Illinois defense attorney,One of the most exciting things about becoming a young adult is that teens can obtain driving privileges. Starting as early as age 15, teens can apply for a driver’s permit, and can work their way up through the graduated driver’s license program offered by the Illinois Department of Motor Vehicles. After the permit phase is complete, or when a teen reaches the age of 16, teens aged 16-17 can enter the initial licensing phase, and once a teen turns 18, he or she can enter the full licensing phase. So long as teens comply with the rules set forth concerning the permit phase and/or the initial licensing phase, they can keep happily driving wherever they want to go.

Traffic Violations Impact Teens’ Ability to Drive

However, receiving a citation for a driving offense can impact or endanger a teen’s driving privileges. Juvenile traffic offenses, such as the following, may endanger the privilege of driving:

  • Receiving a moving violation conviction while in the permit phase of the graduated license program means that a teen driver will have to wait an extra nine months before he or she can apply for the initial licensing phase.
  • Similarly, getting caught driving without a permit will leave a teen ineligible for a driver’s license until the age of 18.
  • Permit holder teens driving in violation of the nighttime driving restrictions, codified by 625 ILCS 5/6-107(b), can result in a suspension of a teen’s driving privileges.
  • While a driver is under the age of 21, if the young driver gets two driving offense convictions within a 24 month period then under 625 ILCS 5/6-206(a)(36) the young driver will end up with a suspension of his or her driver’s license.
  • Any young driver whose driver’s license is suspended will have to pay a reinstatement fee of $70.
  • When a teen goes to get his or her driver’s license, if there are any unresolved traffic citations, a driver’s license will not be issued.

Driving without a License

Driving without a license can land a teen in a lot of trouble. A teen is not permitted to drive without a valid license in Illinois, which means that if the teen does not have one, or it is suspended or revoked, he or she is not supposed to operate a vehicle. Even if the teen has a valid license, but he or she just does not have it with him or her at the time the teen is pulled over by law enforcement, he or she can be cited for driving without a driver’s license.

If a teen is caught driving without a license, if he or she is not able to prove that he or she does in fact hold a valid license, the teen will be subject to a license suspension. What this means is that the teen’s ability to apply for a driver’s license in the future is suspended for a period of time. Even if the teen has never held a driver’s license to begin with, his or her ability to apply for one would be suspended. Driving without a license can result in a Class B misdemeanor, while driving with a suspended or revoked license is a Class A misdemeanor.

Call the Law Offices of Christopher M. Cosley

If you are a teen or have a teen who has gotten a traffic violation which could impact his or her driving privileges, please do not hesitate to contact an experienced Rolling Meadows juvenile matters lawyer immediately. Call the Law Offices of Christopher M. Cosley. Our phone number is (847) 394-3200.

 

Source:

https://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/drivers/teen_driver_safety/gdl.html

Back to Top Back to Top Back to Top