Search
Facebook Twitter Our Blog
The Law Offices of Christopher M. Cosley
24 HOUR ANSWERING | 847-394-3200
SERVICE

1855 Rohlwing Road, Suite D, Rolling Meadows, IL 60008

24 HOUR ANSWERING SERVICE

Minors and Alcohol in Illinois

August 25th, 2013 at 6:54 pm

According to Illinois law, selling and distributing any type of alcoholic beverage to anyone under the age of 21 is illegal. Even though it is against the law, many people still serve alcohol to minors without fear of consequence.

Lucy If someone chooses to sell, deliver, or serve alcohol to a minor, or to any already-intoxicated person, the penalty is that of a Class A Misdemeanor. This applies to any vendor of alcohol, like bars, or any grocery store, drug store or party store. This penalty includes of fine of at least $500 and a jail sentence of up to one year.

Along with a fine and jail time, a business’s liquor license may also be revoked and/or criminal sanctions can be  imposed onto the license, putting restrictions on the license and a “warning.”

This penalty is also for anyone who is over 21 and chooses to purchase alcohol and give it to deliver it to anyone below the age of 21.

Although it is illegal to sell to minors, the minors themselves will also get into trouble for being in possession of alcohol and consuming it. If someone under the age of 21 is in possession of or has consumed alcohol, they have committed a Class C Misdemeanor. If this occurs in a public area, such as a highway or other street, it will be classified as a Class B Misdemeanor.

This will be penalized with up to a $500 fine and up to six months in jail.

The exception to this law is if the person’s job requires him or her to deliver alcohol and he or she is found with it in a vehicle and the alcohol is closed.

Sometimes minors think that it is acceptable to purchase, possess, consume and accept alcohol as a gift if it is for a special occasion. This is only the case if it is done the privacy of the home or during a religious ceremony with approval of the parents, however, parents will get in trouble with a Class A Misdemeanor for allowing underage drinking to occur in the home.

Violating this law will result in a fine of up to $500 and a jail sentence that may be as long as 30 days.

If you have been caught violating Illinois’s alcohol laws, contact a criminal attorney for assistance. Located in Rolling Meadows, Attorney Chris Cosley can help you with your criminal case today.

Share this Post : Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someone

Written by Staff Writer

August 25th, 2013 at 6:54 pm

Back to Top Back to Top Back to Top