Search
Facebook Twitter Google Our Blog
The Law Offices of Christopher M. Cosley
24 HOUR ANSWERING | 847-394-3200
SERVICE

1855 Rohlwing Road, Suite D, Rolling Meadows, IL 60008

24 HOUR ANSWERING SERVICE

Archive for the ‘sex offender registries’ tag

Who is Required to Register as a Sex Offender in Illinois?

November 28th, 2017 at 9:06 am

Rolling Meadows criminal defense lawyer, sex crimes, sex offender, sex offender registries, sex crime chargesA sex offender, simply put, is someone who has been convicted of, or plead guilty to, committing a sex crime (i.e. a crime involving sexual conduct or committed with a sexual motive). In the United States, many sex offenders are required to register with a local law enforcement agency due to the federal Wetterling Act.

The act requires the states to implement sex offender registries aimed at gathering information about sex offenders living within their borders, and the corresponding state laws designed to fulfill this requirement (which are each commonly referred to as “Megan’s Law,” respectively).

Registration requirements vary a bit from state to state. However, to give you an idea about the circumstances under which an individual is generally required to register as a sex offender, the registration requirements for Illinois’ sex offender registry are briefly outlined below.

Illinois’ Sex Offender Registry Requirements

Illinois’ Megan’s Law, codified in code section 730 ILCS 152/115(a) & (b), requires the Illinois State Police to maintain a Sex Offender Database identifying individuals living in the state who have been convicted of committing certain sex offenses (and some crimes against children as well). This list includes but is not limited to:

  • Criminal sexual assault,
  • Indecent solicitation of a child or an adult,
  • Sexual misconduct with a person with a disability,
  • Juvenile pimping, and
  • Public indecency (for a third or subsequent conviction).

Additionally, it is important to note that under some circumstances an individual may be required to register as a sex offender in Illinois even if he or she was not convicted or pled guilty to a qualifying sex crime in Illinois. For example, if an Illinois court found the individual not guilty by reason of insanity, if he or she was convicted of an offense in another state or in a foreign country that is substantially equivalent to a qualifying Illinois sex crime, if he or she is a minor who was adjudicated delinquent for a qualifying sex crime, or if he or she was found to be “sexually dangerous” or “sexually violent,” then that individual may be required to register as a sex offender in Illinois.

Once a Registered Sex Offender Always a Registered Sex Offender?

While some sex offenders are required under Illinois law to be registered for life (for example, offenders convicted of first degree murder) most sex offenders are only required to register for a set period of time, generally 10 years. During this period most offenders are required to re-register annually (and again when they move to a new address); however, if an offender is classified as sexually dangerous or sexually violent then he or she is required to re-register every 90 days.

Need Legal Advice? Contact a Local Criminal Defense Lawyer

If you have been accused of committing a sex crime in Illinois, it is imperative that you contact a local Rolling Meadows criminal defense lawyer without delay. A criminal defense lawyer who has experience defending clients against sex crime charges will be able to evaluate the facts of your case, outline your legal options, and recommend a course of action. At The Law Offices of Christopher M. Cosley we defend clients against a wide variety of criminal offenses (possession of child pornography, rape, sexual assault, indecent exposure, etc.) and offer prospective clients a free initial consultation.

 

Source:

https://www.law.cornell.edu/topn/jacob_wetterling_crimes_against_children_and_sexually_violent_offender_registration_act

Back to Top Back to Top Back to Top