Search
Facebook Twitter Our Blog
The Law Offices of Christopher M. Cosley
24 HOUR ANSWERING | 847-394-3200
SERVICE

1855 Rohlwing Road, Suite D, Rolling Meadows, IL 60008

24 HOUR ANSWERING SERVICE

Archive for the ‘underage DUI’ tag

What You Need to Know About Underage DUIs in Illinois

December 12th, 2017 at 8:10 am

Rolling Meadows DUI attorney, underage drinking, underage DUI, zero tolerance policy, driving privilegesWe all know that it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle in Illinois with a BAC of 0.08 percent or more. Yet did you know that drivers who are under 21 years of age can get in trouble for driving under the influence if they have any detectable amount of alcohol in their system? This is because Illinois has what is known as a zero tolerance driving under the influence policy.

Illinois’ Zero Tolerance Policy

As noted on the Office of the Illinois Secretary of State’s website, a driver who is less than 21 years old and is caught with even a trace amount of alcohol in his or her system can get into a lot of trouble under Illinois’ zero tolerance law. Exactly how much trouble a young driver can get in depends on how much alcohol they are found to have consumed before getting behind the wheel. For example, a person who is under 21 can be charged with a DUI (aka driving under the influence) if he or she is caught with:

  • A BAC of 0.08 percent or more,
  • A BAC of 0.05 percent or more plus additional evidence proving impairment,
  • Any illegal drugs in their system, or
  • Other indications of having been driving while under the influence.

Furthermore, Illinois’ zero tolerance law provides that a driver who is under 21 will lose his or her driving privileges if he or she is caught driving after having consumed any alcohol at all. Underage individuals who get caught driving with alcohol in their system in Illinois lose their driving privileges as follows:

  • If convicted of a first DUI – driving privileges revoked for at least two years.
  • If convicted of a second DUI within five years – driving privileges revoked for at least five years.
  • If stopped and issued a ticket for a traffic violation (first offense) – driving privileges suspended for three months.
  • If stopped and issued a ticket for a traffic violation (second offense) – driving privileges suspended for one year.

The Consequences of Underage DUIs in Illinois

In addition to losing their driving privileges for a specified period of time, underage individuals convicted of driving under the influence in Illinois can be sentenced to serve time in jail (generally imprisonment for up to one year) and/or be ordered to pay a fine (typically up to $2,500). Furthermore, those convicted of driving under the influence often find that the consequences of a DUI conviction extend far beyond the penalties imposed by the court. For example, many people find that after being convicted their insurance provider decides to terminate their auto insurance policy.

Need Legal Advice? Contact a Local Rolling Meadows DUI Attorney

Anyone who has recently been charged with driving under the influence in Illinois should contact an experienced Rolling Meadows DUI attorney Christopher M. Cosley without delay. It is important to realize that driving under the influence, whether you are over or under 21, is a serious criminal offense in Illinois that can carry steep fines and serious jail time. Therefore, if you have been accused of driving under the influence it is critical that you consult with a local criminal defense lawyer about your legal options right away.

Source:

http://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/drivers/traffic_safety/DUI/uselose.html

Underage Drinking and Punishments in Illinois

November 14th, 2013 at 10:39 am

illinois-underage-drinkingDrinking alcohol is dangerous for people of all ages even if they are old enough to drink legally. The law is not meant just to get people in trouble, it is to protect them, which is why the punishments can be so severe.

Not only is consuming alcohol illegal, but those under 21 cannot even transport or have alcohol in their possession. If someone underage is caught transporting alcohol in their vehicle, they can be fined up to $500 and receive a jail sentence of up to six months. The exception to this law is if a person under the age of 21 is transporting alcohol for employment or under the order of his or her parents.

If someone underage is caught drinking and driving, their punishment will be even more severe than someone who is of age because they will have broken multiple laws. If someone underage registers a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08 or higher while driving, he or she may be sentenced to 30 days in jail and be fined up to $500.

Under the Zero Tolerance Law, any person under the age of 21 can be punished for drinking and driving even if he or she does not register a 0.08 BAC. Depending on how many offenses the person may have and whether or not he or she refuses the test, the offense if punishable by 3 months up to 2 years in prison. The prison time, of course, increases if the BAC is above 0.08.

Some underage drinkers even go as far as getting a fake ID so that they can buy alcohol themselves and get into bars. With each step away from the truth, these teens are digging deeper and deeper holes for themselves with the law. Having a fake ID can result in 25 hours of community service, most likely for an alcohol abuse prevention program or a fine of at least $250. If a person who is 21 or older allows someone else to borrow their ID can have the same results.

Underage drinking dangerous for the drinker and it is also dangerous for those around him or her. Anyone with knowledge of underage drinking can get into legal trouble as well. If you have been caught drinking underage or allowing someone to, contact a criminal attorney for help. Located in Rolling Meadows, attorney Chris Cosley will help you through your underage drinking court case today.

Underage Driver Facing DUI Charges for Fatal Chicago Car Accident

April 3rd, 2012 at 12:33 am

The Chicago Police have charged the teenager driver allegedly responsible for a car accident that occurred around 2 a.m. on the morning of Monday, April 2. The accident happened, in the Brighton Park area of Chicago, and the driver told police that she had been drinking vodka and orange juice with her boyfriend at a nearby Chicago motel.

The eighteen-year-old faces misdemeanor DUI charges in the car wreck, which killed one man and injured five others. It’s possible that her DUI charge could be upgraded to a felony.She was also cited for failure to yield to the right-of-way, driving without a license, and driving without insurance. The woman was taken to the hospital with hand and arm injuries, where she was arrested. The current condition of the other injured drivers is unknown.

Under-aged drinking is a real problem. Unfortunately, young people make decisions about drinking and driving without having a real understanding of the potentially devastating consequences. One bad decision can result in life-altering consequences, including serious criminal charges.

screenshot via Chicago Tribune

In the state of Illinois, anyone 18 and over who receives a DUI is charged as an adult, and faces the same serious legal consequences as an over-21 DUI offender. In Illinois, a Class 4 Felony DUI can result in up to 12 years imprisonment. Even less severe DUI charges can bring a driver’s license suspension, probation, and significant fines. Young people facing DUI charges should seek the advice of an experienced Cook County DUI defense lawyer.  

Posted in DUI/DWI

Tagged with ,

Back to Top Back to Top Back to Top