Search
Facebook Twitter Google Our Blog
The Law Offices of Christopher M. Cosley
24 HOUR ANSWERING | 847-394-3200
SERVICE

1855 Rohlwing Road, Suite D, Rolling Meadows, IL 60008

24 HOUR ANSWERING SERVICE

Illinois Automobile Insurance

March 16th, 2018 at 12:38 pm

Illinois automobile insurance, Rolling Meadows criminal defense attorney, types of auto insurance, property insurance, bodily injury insuranceIf you are pulled over, one of the first questions a police officer will ask is to see your license, registration, and proof of insurance. It is essential to carry all three of these items with you in your vehicle. However, what happens if you forget to bring your insurance? Or, what if you do not have automobile insurance?

What Insurance Does Illinois Require?

There are three types of auto insurance required in Illinois. A driver must have both property and liability/bodily injury insurance. Additionally, a driver must carry uninsured motorist bodily injury insurance. The property insurance component of auto insurance is for covering the cost in case you damage another’s property in your vehicle. Most often, this is to cover the damages to another vehicle. Occasionally, however, other property can be damaged. Your insurance policy must cover at least $20,000 of property insurance.

The liability/bodily injury auto insurance is to cover the costs that will arise if you injure or kill someone in an accident. If you have caused a crash where someone is injured or killed, it is almost certain that a claim against your insurance to be compensated for sustained injuries will be filed. Compensation could be for medical bills, doctors visits, treatments, lost wages, and even pain and suffering. Even passengers in your own vehicle can file claim to your insurance for their injuries in a crash. You must purchase at least $25,000 of liability insurance for the injury or death of one person and at least $50,000 for the death of more than one individual per accident. Aside from the minimums, there is also the possibility of buying more coverage.

Uninsured motorist bodily injury insurance is insurance to protect you if you are involved in a crash with another vehicle that does not have insurance You are required to have $25,000 in coverage for one person in the accident and at least $50,000 for two or more individuals in an accident.

What if I Do Not Have Insurance?

If you are unable to provide proof of insurance to a law enforcement officer when asked, then you are breaking the law. You will receive a ticket for driving without insurance. If you are convicted or plead guilty, you will receive a minimum fine of $500 and your license plates will be suspended until you comply with the law on your first offense. Subsequent offenses result in harsher penalties.

Let Us Help You Today

If you have been charged with driving without insurance, The Law Offices of Christopher M. Cosley can defend you. There are defenses available to driving without insurance. Talented Rolling Meadows criminal defense attorney Christopher Cosley has years of experience and will investigate and explore every defense that might be available to you. Contact us for a free consultation today.

Source:

http://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/vehicles/mandatory_insurance.html

Share this Post : Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someone
Back to Top Back to Top Back to Top